Leaving the District
There are 2 things to consider when leaving the district, copying your files for personal access, and transferring ownership so district files will still be available after your account is deleted. We'll walk through your options and the steps here...
When you leave, there will be some folders/files you may still want access to. Again, there are 2 options for this:
- Google Drive Takeout. Takeout is a utility provided by Google that allows you to make a copy of anything you have in your work Google Drive to a local download that can be saved to a USB drive. Here's a quick video that walks you through the process of using Google Takeout https://youtu.be/kBwfSX1bkaU or to start the process go to https://takeout.google.com
- Google "Transfer". You can perform a “Transfer”, which allows you to copy all of your work EMail and Drive files to a personal GMail account. Full instructions to Transfer are available HERE
- File Ownership. If you’ve ever created a file and shared it with others, that file is still owned by you. Before you leave, you’ll want to make sure the “Ownership” of any important files are transferred to someone else in district before we delete your account, or else all those files will be deleted as well. We have a full explanation of the process HERE
Please note, this is only available on a per file basis. If you need to transfer large folders or your entire Google Drive to another staff member, please submit an IT WorkOrder to have a technician take care of that for you.